About us

The ADMM-Plus Experts’ Working Group (EWG) on Maritime Security is one of six ADMM-Plus EWGs established by the ASEAN Defence Ministers’ Meeting-Plus to foster practical defence and military cooperation. Cooperation is undertaken in accordance with the fundamental ASEAN principles of

  • consensus,
  • respect for sovereignty and
  • progress at a pace acceptable to all ADMM-Plus members.


On 29 April 2011 the ASEAN Defence Senior Officials’ Meeting-Plus (ADSOM-Plus) formally established the ADMM-Plus EWG on Maritime Security.

The ADSOM-Plus endorsed Malaysia and Australia as the inaugural co-chairs for a period of three years. Brunei Darussalam and New Zealand assumed co-chair responsibilities in April 2014.


The overall aims of the EWG are:

  • Enhanced maritime cooperation
  • Identifying risks in the maritime domain, especially non-traditional security threats and
  • Wider information sharing

The ADMM-Plus Maritime Security EWG Concept Paper outlines the EWG’s functions in more detail.

Further information about the background of the ADMM-Plus and other ADMM-Plus EWGs is available on the ADMM website.